Mad Mackerel Recommends… Organised Scum

organised scum

Despite boasting a moniker than suggests some kind of hardcore thrash punk outfit, Organised Scum are altogether more subtle than that. Instead they deal in off-beat, melodic arrangements more akin to Pavement, Lambchop, or XTC.

The duo’s debut double-A-side single, Insane Making Behaviour/Who’s the Prick? officially came out yesterday and is a top quality combo of stoner-folk, slacker melancholy and svelte indie-pop.

Listen below or download both tracks for free here.





Ten Songs You Should Have Heard This Week

best of the weekHere they are, all wrapped and presented in a tidy bow for you. Ten new songs from the past week including Screaming Females, Goat, Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam, of Montreal, a gorgeous new song from Alex Bleeker and an excellent cover of Gun Club’s classic Sex Beat by Katy Goodman & Greta Morgan.

Good stuff indeed. Happy weekend.

  1. Screaming Females – Skeleton
  2. Jeff The Brotherhood – Punishment
  3. Virginia Wing – Grapefruit
  4. Goat – Try My Robe
  5. of Montreal – My Fair Lady
  6. Slothrust – Horseshoe Crab
  7. Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam – A 1000 Times
  8. Alex Bleeker – Bet Your Ass
  9. Magic Trick – More
  10. Katy Goodman & Greta Morgan – Sex Beat  (Gun Club cover)












MM Shorts 861: PJ ORR

Woozy Australian PJ Orr’s new album out Foggy Notion hashes together acoustic folk and blues forms with a healthy doses of psychedelia, all underpinned by a cathartic story telling quality.

Taking his cues from influences as disparate as Marc Bolan, Primal Scream and Ariel Pink, we suggest you could do a lot worse than check out the smoky beat of Mona Lisa below.


Nickel In The Jukebox (Vol. 21)

Nickel In The Jukebox

It has been a good while since we last shared a Nickel In The Jukebox post, but here are ten tracks making up for lost time. You decide… hit or miss?

My Son Bison – Two Faces And A Vase  [RIYL: Psych-pop, The Beach Boys, The Shins] 


The Blind Owls – All Day And Night  [RIYL: 60s Pop, Little Richard , The Kinks]


Bess Atwell – Cobbled Streets  [RIYL: Folk, Agnes Obel, Sharon Van Etten]


The Begowatts – Lawmaker  [RIYL: Garage Rock, Rolling Stones, Futurebirds]


Coates – Grin And Tonic  [RIYL: Urban-folk, Frank Turner, Jamie T]


Luke Bell – Bullfighter  [RIYL: Outlaw Country, Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard]


Ghost Camp – Ganymede  [RIYL: Arty post-punk, New Order, Talking Heads]


Boys Forever – Cold Is The Colour  [RIYL: Woozy garage-pop, Mac DeMarco, Kurt Vile]


Honey Bucket – Unexplainable Phenomenon  [RIYL: Mutant pop, The Clean, Television Personalities]


Blurred Moon – Far  [RIYL: Melancholic Folk, Sufjan Stevens, Fanfarlo]


MM Shorts 860: Daniel Amedee

We first posted about New Orleans singer-songwriter Daniel Amedee as part of our 100 Posts in 100 Hours marathon at the beginning of the year.

Now he has just released Life, the title track off of his upcoming EP of the same name that sees the light of day on the 16th August.

With a hypnotic, meditative backbeat and beautifully earnest vocals, Life pulls you into its rhythm, lyrically delving into the concept that we each create our own reality.

Have a listen.


MM Shorts 859: Molly Parden

Molly Parden

Ease into Monday morning with the gorgeous Kentucky I by Georgia singer-songwriter Molly Parden.

It comes from her new EP With Me In The Summer and with her effortlessy swooning vocals  becomes a beautifully reflective, sweetly melancholic track that begs to be played on repeat.

Have a listen.

Ten Songs You Should Have Heard This Week

best of the weekIt is that time again. Ten more of the week’s best new releases rounded up for your listening pleasure.

This week we have new songs from the likes of Hiss Golden Messenger, Beach Slang, Gringo Star and Lorelle Meets The Obsolete, as well as tasty covers from The Avett Brothers and Sharon Van Etten.

Have fun.

  1. Hiss Golden Messenger – Biloxi
  2. The Avett Brothers – What A Wonderful World  (Louis Armstrong cover)
  3. Sharon Van Etten – Do You Realise?  (Flaming Lips cover)
  4. Beach Slang – Punks In A Disco Bar
  5. Cool Ghouls – Days
  6. Lorelle Meets The Obsolete – La Distinciôn
  7. Pill – Vagabond
  8. Flock Of Dimes – Semaphore
  9. Toby Coke – Time Negator
  10. Gringo Star – Magic












Grant Earl Lavalley – Let The Light Shine In

To understand Grant Earl Lavalley, with his deep country moan and hints of Appalachian yodel, you must read his tweets…”Just like my van, my new shack also has no windows.” For his byline, he writes, “…as a child I used to enjoy finding fleas and ticks in dog hair.

His ‘shack’ is a cabin on the dirt backroads of Joshua Tree, in the Mojave desert, California. He’s an artist straight from the school of the runaway – the dropout, a hermetic and hardworking, psychedelic warrior.

Originally from Ohio, Lavalley spent his formative years in San Francisco, making art and playing in punk bands before retreating to tend an emerald crop of future doobage on a Northern California mountaintop. It was alone on that mountain that he began writing his darkly poetic, pensive campfire songs.

A haunting otherworldly combination of Townes Van Zandt, Nick Cave, and Leonard Cohen, comes to mind. Watch the video for the brilliant Let The Light Shine In, the B-side of his debut 7″ single titled Dark Love and released via Exit Stencil.



New Album From The Handsome Family

Handsome Family

It is a delight to discover that one of our favourite bands,  the wonderful cult duo of Brett and Rennie Sparks, aka The Handsome Family will soon return with their tenth studio album Unseen. It is out via one of our favourite labels Loose, on the 16th September.

The album continues The Handsome Family’s embrace of things beyond easy view: the slow dive of the sun, enormous bugs awakening in thorny yards, sirens and coyotes that cry out to the purple sky, a tribute to William Crookes who built the first vacuum tube in 1875 (hoping to detect spirits from unseen dimensions), bleached desert bones, blackjack losers – you get the picture I’m sure.

The first track from it is the wonderful Gold, inspired by an incident when a bunch of twenty-dollar bills blew in Brett’s face in a parking-lot dust storm. It is a modern classic murder ballad set against a backdrop of “wide empty streets, the air shaking with heat.” The track paints typically intense images of a protagonist, with snake tattoos, a ski mask, and gun shot wounds – all the result of feeling “hungry to do something mean”.

Classic Handsome Family. Great to have them back.


Some New Videos

We’ve had a recent influx of videos for some excellent new tunes and thought it was high time we shared some of them…

We’ve got TERRY’s line-dancing vid for Hot Heads, dancers from Ballet Austin in Adam Torres’ new video for Juniper Arms, Julie Ruin’s video for their excellent track I’m Done, the return of MM faves Loch Lomond and their video for Pens From Spain, and Metronomy’s new video for Night Owl.

Then there is Diane & The Gentle Men’s tongue-in-cheek video for Motorcycle, a classic tale of teenage rebellion, and finally Soft Fang’s excellent musical film for The Wilderness.