1. Angel Olsen – Special
  2. Screaming Females – Black Moon
  3. Hiss Golden Messenger – John The Gun
  4. The Cornshed Sisters – Running
  5. Torres – Helen In The Woods
  6. Deep Dark Woods – Fallen Leaves
  7. Weaves featuring Tanya Tagaq – Scream
  8. Kevin Devine featuring Half Waif – I Was Alive Back Then
  9. Laura Baird – Pretty Polly














New Single From The Lovely Eggs

Posted: September 22, 2017 in Alternative, Indie, Music, Punk, Rock

Ah, punked-up, irreverent, fuck-you mavericks The Lovely Eggs are back with a new single. And brilliant it is too.

I Shouldn’t Have Said That is two minutes of full-on, vitriolic kraut-punk that will have Lemmy nodding approvingly from upstairs – or probably downstairs.

Anyway, stick it on, turn it up, watch the paint blister.


More From Joseph Childress

Posted: September 21, 2017 in Americana, Country, Folk, Music

We’ve already posted a couple of tracks from Joseph Childress’ new self-titled record, and Leaving The Barren Ground is the latest, and final, song to be shared from it ahead of its official release on the 6th October.

It is another really fine example of his organic songwriting and pithy Americana with just the right amount of gentle twang. It is easy to how the comparisons to such luminaries as Townes Van Zandt and Dylan have arisen.

Stream it here.


Shannon Lay – Recording 15

Posted: September 21, 2017 in Americana, Folk, Music

On the evidence of Recording 15 (below) and the previously posted The Moons Detriment, we are greatly looking forward to Shannon Lay’s new long player Living Water (out as the inaugural release on Kevin Morby’s new Mare Records imprint).

It is a sweetly plucked folky campfire love song. Gorgeous.

You can pre-order the album here.


MM Shorts 972: Black Pudding

Posted: September 19, 2017 in Alternative, Garage, Music, Punk, Rock

Born from the ashes of Leeds noiseniks Stilts, Black Pudding are a punked-up, garage rock band with a twisted sense of humour.

Check out the lead track from new double A side single – Sci-fi Si/Tillagio via Loner Noise records. There is  a touch of the Ty Segall/Thee Oh Sees thickness to their riffs, some of The Wytches’ foreboding gloom and a (un)healthy dose of The Cramps’ campy weirdness.



Mad Mackerel Recommends… Lenore

Posted: September 18, 2017 in Americana, Folk, Gothic, Indie, Music, Rock

The debut album from Portland witch-folk duo Lenore. is out now.

The album has a lush sound that contrasts with the stark intimacy of the lyrics, and the open-gazed sense of place that comes from the beautiful sweeping vistas of the Pacific Northwest. But really the core of the sound is their beautiful voices intertwining in harmony – have a listen to Ether’s Arms below.


Wood Chickens come barrelling out of the roadhouse with a frazzled collection of lo-fi, country-punk that nods to everything from the Cramps to the Minutemen to Gun Club – deranged don’t come close.

Countrycide is their first ‘proper’ album – thirteen songs, twenty seven minutes or so – and you can check out a couple of tracks below, and click through to buy.




Quilt have shared their version of F.J. McMahon’s Sister Brother, off their forthcoming full album cover of McMahon’s 1969 classic psych-folk record Spirit of the Golden Juice.

Limited to 1,000 copies the record will be out later this month via Turntable Kitchen’s Sounds Delicious vinyl series. Listen to the track below and pre-order the album here.


  1. Spray Paint with Ben Mackie – Friendly Moving Man
  2. Wavves – The Lung
  3. Destroyer – Tinseltown Swimming In Blood
  4. Nervous Dater – Bad Spanish
  5. Holiday Ghosts – Can’t Bear To Be Boring
  6. The Lemon Twigs – Why Didn’t You Say That
  7. Joana Serrat – Trapped In The Fog
  8. Pansies – Feels Like Yesterday










Some musical films and lyric videos. They’re good.

Offa My Hands is the third song unveiled from Jessica Lea Mayfield’s anticipated new album, Sorry Is Gone.


Phoebe Bridgers has shared Funeral, another haunting and introspective track from her upcoming debut album Stranger In The Alps.


Norwegian chanteuse Ane Brun’s new record consists of fourteen covers of tracks by Radiohead, Joni Mitchell, Nick Cave, Bob Dylan and even Foreigner amongst others. This is her stunning version of Radiohead’s How To Disappear Completely.


Equally haunting and beautiful is Julien Baker’s video for Appointments taken from forthcoming long player Turn Out The Lights.


Montreal, QC-based trio Timber Timbre have revealed new track Les Egouts. The song comes after the recent release of their sixth studio album Sincerely, Future Pollution.


Meadowlark have shared a striking video for their new single Sunlight. The track is the latest to be lifted from the Bristol based boy-girl duo’s debut album Postcards, which is out now.


Jangly indie-pop maestros Alvvays have shared their fun new video for current single Dreams Tonite.


David Lynch enthusiasts 68creep have unveiled the video for Stone Cold Kiss which should find favour with fans of BRMC, J&MC and the Kills.


Lastly Chastity Belt take off on a surreally silly road-trip in their video for Stuck taken from their latest album I Used To Spend So Much Time Alone.