Posts Tagged ‘ShitKid’

ShitKid – Get Jealous

Posted: November 22, 2019 in Alternative, Indie, Music, Punk, Rock

Fiercely independent Swedish duo ShitKid’s upcoming release Duo Limbo/”Mellan himmel å helvete” presents four incendiary new blasts of grungy punk as they were originally conceived. Firstly as English-language tracks, before “Mellan himmel å helvete” (‘Between Heaven and Hell’) takes the same instrumental tracks and lays new Swedish vocals over the top. The effect is two sides of the same coin, defined by the subtle differences in the vocal delivery in what are their first recordings in their native Swedish.

The excellent lead single is Get Jealous, and it is out now.


ShitKid – Detention Album

Posted: May 10, 2019 in Alternative, Music, Pop, Punk, Rock

Åsa Söderqvist and new bandmate Lina Molarin Ericsson, aka ShitKid are winding the clock back to their school days to mine material for their excellent second album [DETENTION].

It is a scintillating eight-track pop-punk blast of teen angst that pays tribute to the bands Söderqvist loved in her formative years. It perfectly evokes a rebellious, youthful spirit that everybody can relate to; young love, alienation and a surefire belief that the adults are out to get you.

And ShitKid have pulled it off with so much energy, that they have made the teenage rollercoaster of emotions such a joy to ride again. Even at our age!

Check out a couple of tracks from the record below and order via Bandcamp here.



  1. First Aid Kit – Ruins
  2. Courtney Marie Andrews – May Your Kindness Remain
  3. Suuns – Watch You, Watch Me
  4. Alela Diane – Ether & Wood
  5. Nap Eyes – I’m Bad Now
  6. Prism Tats – Daggers
  7. Public Access T.V. – Lost In The Game
  8. U.S. Girls – Pearly Gates
  9. Sunflower Bean – Crisis Fest
  10. Rik & The Pigs – America
  11. Frankie Cosmos – Jesse
  12. Kal Marks – Today I Walked Down To The Tree, Read A Book, And When I Was Done I Went Back Inside
  13. Shitkid – Yooouuu
  14. H.C. McEntire – Quartz In The Valley
  15. Van William – Cosmic Sign

















ShitKid – Oh Me I’m Never

Posted: December 1, 2017 in Alternative, Indie, Music, Pop, Rock

We’ve posted stuff from ShitKid a few times. It is the project of Swedish artist Åsa Söderqvist, and following her excellent debut LP of quirky, anti-pop Fish, she will release a new EP This Is It in January.

First taste is Oh Me I’m Never – retaining the lo-fi quality of earlier recordings, it is a hypnotic slab of quirky indie rock that sounds like a twisted take on the doo-wop bands of the sixties.

Excellent stuff – stream it below.


Like many we have been charmed by the tipsy musings of Sweden’s Åsa Söderqvist, aka ShitKid, backed with resolutely lo-fi guitar fuzz and digital drum-beats, but executed with rock n’ roll grit and charming nonchalance.

She will release her highly anticipated debut album Fish via PNKSLM Recordings on the 2nd June and the latest track from it is Two Motorbikes, of which she says “This one is about motorbike-taxis in Southeast Asia where I spent two months either alone or with a guy. It’s about holiday romance and how you have to relinquish any fear of dying while there. When you say yes to helmetless and reckless motorbike rides through crowded Bangkok traffic thinking “oh well, better to burn out.”

Listen to it below. Pre-order the album here.

  1. Justin Townes Earle – Graceland
  2. Hazel English – Love Is Dead
  3. Kevin Morby – Bag Of Rats
  4. Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit – Cumberland Gap
  5. Waxahatchee – Silver (Demo)
  6. ShitKid – Alright
  7. Big Thief – Breathe In My Lungs
  8. Trevor Sensor – High Beams
  9. Danny & The Champions Of The World – Swift Street
  10. Mac DeMarco – One More Love Song
  11. David Bazan – The Devil In His Youth  (Protomartyr cover)
  12. Tangerines – 1945














ShitKid – Sugartown

Posted: February 18, 2017 in Alternative, Garage, Indie, Music, Pop, Rock


With a distinctly lo-fi sound and DIY aesthetic that starkly contrasts with the regular image of Scandinavian music, Sweden’s ShitKid, aka 24-year-old Stockholm based Åsa Söderqvist, returns with a new release EP 2, and a new single Sugar Town.

Probably the best thing she’s done to date with its garage pop swagger and catchy refrain, you can listen to the single below, and pre-order the EP here.


best of the weekWell, on this gloomiest of weeks a little ray of sunshine perhaps with some new music gathered up from the best of the last seven days (oh the irony).

So while Johnson and Gove revel in the toxic slime of their own making and the Labour Party implodes, hit play on nine new songs from the likes of Devendra Banhart, ShitKid, Wymond Miles, The Wind-Up Birds and covers from Ex-Cult and Katy Goodman & Greta Morgan.

  1. Devendra Banhart – Middle Names
  2. Katy Goodman & Greta Morgan – Bastards Of Young  (Replacements cover)
  3. Wymond Miles – Summer Rains
  4. The Wind-Up Birds – Straightforward Skies
  5. ShitKid – R&R Sally
  6. Ex-Cult – 1906  (West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band cover)
  7. The Big Bend – Celebrate
  8. Toby Coke – Never Be Alone
  9. Trace Mountains – I Am Extra Natural












It has been a good while since the last Nickel In The Jukebox feature. So to put that right, here are ten new tunes of different styles for you to compare and contrast.

We like them all, but you decide for yourself – hit or miss?

The Bones Of J.R. Jones – Hammers And Nails  [RIYL: Blues, Scott H Biram, William Elliott Whitmore]


ShitKid – 666  [RIYL: lo-fi pop, Sleigh Bells, Daniel Johnson]


Spares – Grim City  [RIYL: Power-punk, Buzzcocks, Catfish & The Bottlemen]


Drinking Flowers – Bending Haols  [RIYL: Post-punk, Joy Division, The Cure]


The High Learys – Cabinet  [RIYL: Brit-pop, Kasabian, Arctic Monkeys]


Kacy & Clayton – Strange Country  [RIYL: Psych-folk, Richard and Linda Thompson, Magnolia Electric Company]


The Night Café – Together  [RIYL: Indie-pop, Bombay Bicycle Club, Fleetwood Mac]


Tape Club – I Miss Hanging Out With My Friends Who Black Out Together  [RIYL: Indie-pop, Mountain Goats, Sun Kil Moon]


Amaroun – Bedbugs  [RIYL: Alt-folk, Sharon Van Etten, Eels]


Logan Magness – Thin Red Line  [RIYL: Singer-songwriters, James Taylor, Joe Pug]