Archive for the ‘Alternative’ Category

The Myrrors will return with a new album Borderlands!, which is out on August 17th via Beyond Beyond is Beyond.

They have shared The Blood That Runs The Border, a masterpiece of slow burning, desert baked psych and drone that pervades and hypnotises the senses in equal measure.

Listen below, and order the album via Bandcamp here.


Lots of tasty covers this week…

  1. The Devil Makes Three – Bad Idea
  2. Jacuzzi Boys – Song For The Man  (Beastie Boys cover)
  3. D.A. Stern – I Don’t Know  (Beastie Boys cover)
  4. The Dirty Nil – Pain Of Infinity
  5. Beak> – Brean Down
  6. William Elliott Whitmore – Fear Of Trains  (Magnetic Fields cover)
  7. Phoebe Bridgers – The Gold  (Manchester Orchestra cover)
  8. David Bazan – Thread  (Now Now cover)
  9. Ty Segall & White Fence – Body Behaviour
  10. Claw Marks – Swallow U












The Callas hail from Greece and are built around brothers Lakis and Aris Ionas. In 2016, the group collaborated with Lee Renaldo on a soundtrack for their film The Great Eastern, and they have teamed up once again on their upcoming LP Trouble and Desire due out October 26th.

The first single from it, Acid Books is out this week and its a post-punk burner brimming with frenzied energy. Opening with a swirl of droning ambiance and the rhetorical question, “Do you sleep at night?”, the track quickly launches headlong into a fever of activity. With the anxious pulse of a hard-driving bassline to lead the way, and punctuated by terse outbursts of hypnotic, scuzzed-up guitar lines.

If like us, you have a (great) degree of affection for The Velvet Underground, The Horrors, and Neu! then you’ll find much to like here!

Have a listen.


After a too long absence, the Twilight Sad have shared a new single, the curiously titled I/m Not Here [missing face].

It’s a driving, motorik return, with wailing guitars and swirling synths circling around frontman James Graham’s repeated declarations of “I don’t want to be around you anymore.” Graham describes the track’s lyrical basis as being “about my ongoing battle with not liking myself, trying to be a good person but constantly feeling like I’m failing myself and everyone I care about.

It’s a fabulous return – stream it below.


Lovin’ Scoundrels is a 70s punk-inspired country rock and roll band from Brooklyn, NY. Forged of equal parts Waylon Jennings and Johnny Thunders, the band plays hard-living, booze-soaked anthems.

They have posted a few pay-what-you-want tracks up on Bandcamp here, that are well worth checking out, or just listen to the wearily melancholic Cigarette Beer below…


Featuring members of Terry Malts and Plateaus, LA power pop group Smokescreens have unveiled a new video for their latest single Waiting For Summer, the third track taken from their new album Used To Yesterday, due out this week via Slumberland Records. Filmed during a chilly February morning on a Skid Row rooftop, director Steel O’Neil captures the band embracing the LA winter, whilst pining for the summer sun their music is made for.

Great track – watch below, and check out the first two singles too.




  1. Parquet Courts – Today Your Love, Tomorrow The World  (Ramones cover)
  2. Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros – London Is Burning
  3. Woolen Men – Brick Horizon
  4. Muncie Girls – Falling Down
  5. Sinister Purpose – Warp Yr Head
  6. The Shifters – Work/Life, Gym Etc
  7. Cash Savage & The Last Drinks – Pack Animals
  8. together PANGEA – Money On It (Acoustic)
  9. Elephant Micah – Surf B
  10. Thee MVPs – American Dreamin’












Australian outfit Psychedelic Porn Crumpets have shared their mind-blowing, hypnotic visuals for cosmic offering Cornflake.

Having burst onto the scene in their homeland alongside supports with Royal Blood, Dune Rats and Black Mountain, the band have developed a staunch grassroots following with their captivating blend of psychedelia. They are also re-releasing their first two albums High Visceral Pt 1 & Pt 2 on a limited edition gatefold double vinyl. Limited to 1000 copies, the vinyl will be a UK/EU edition released 10th September.

See them live:

12 Sept – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
13 Sept – Gullivers, Manchester
14 Sept – Broadcast, Glasgow
15 Sept – Sneaky Pete’s, Edinburgh
17 Sept – Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham
18 Sept – Heartbreakers, Southampton
19 Sept – Shacklewell Arms, London

SISTERAY have now announced the release of a brand new EP Sisteray Said this September, ahead of a UK tour that includes a headline show at London’s 100 Club.

The EP delivers on all the London four-piece’s early promise, with four brilliantly inspired tracks railing against the modern age. When punk is done with as much raw energy, sweat, wit and intelligence as this, it’s well worth a listen.

Watch the video for Algorithm Prison below.



Whiplash is the new single from Stockholm based quintet Sudakistan – it follows the excellent Two Steps Back, and both are taken from their upcoming second LP Swedish Cobra. We’re looking forward to this one as we were big fans of their 2015 debut album Caballo Negro.

The new single features the band’s trademark brand of latino infused heavy psych, and some hypnotic spaced out grooves, bringing to mind the likes of Oh Sees and King Gizzard.

Have a listen, and check out the somewhat mellower (at least in parts), Two Steps Back as well.