Posts Tagged ‘Happyness’

Woozy psych-poppers Happyness have shared another track from their recently released album Write In.

Uptrend / Style Raids is described as “A song mainly about not knowing how to dress. A few years ago we spent a whole day walking around a big sprawling flea market in Paris determined to find something vaguely musical. Eventually as it was getting dark we managed to find an old supermarket announcement microphone and a Bontempi chord organ that Benji’s cat immediately broke.”

Not sure how much that tells us, but the song itself is another little gem.


Through Windows is the excellent new single from Happyness’ second album Write In.

With a chorus that started out as kind of a purposeful mishearing of the Velvet Underground’s Ride Into The Sun, the single has a undercurrent of psych-infused, blissful euphoria that reminds us of prime-time Pink Floyd.

Have a listen and check out UK tour dates below.


April Tour Dates:

11 Fulford Arms, York
12 Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
13 Picture House Social Club, Sheffield
14 The Cellar, Oxford
15 Olby’s Cafe, Margate (Moshi Moshi Easter Show)
18 The Hope & Ruin, Brighton
19 The Louisiana, Bristol
20 Buyer’s Club, Liverpool
21 Whelan’s, Dublin
22 The Hug & Pint, Glasgow,
24 Think Tank, Newcastle
25 Gullivers, Manchester
26 Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
28 The Dome, Tufnell Park, London
30 Handmade Festival (Academy 2), Leicester



It’s here! Our countdown of our favourite tracks of 2016 as nominated by MM, Mrs Mackerel, Chris T Popper and The Italian Job. Part One sees us counting down from 100 to 76.

So without further ado…


100 Oldermost – Finally Unsure


99 Slaves – People That You Meet


98 Spoilers – No Pressure


97 Adam Torres – Morning Rain


96 Johnny Dowd – Whiskey Ate My Brain


95 Molly Parden – Kentucky, I


94 The Felice Brothers – Jack At The Asylum


93 Horse Thief – Another Youth


92 Courtney Barnett – Three Packs A Day


91 The Coathangers – Watch Your Back


90 Whitney – No Woman


89 Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker


88 Haybaby – Joke/Rope


87 Springtime Carnivore – Raised By Wolves


86 Jamie T – Tescoland


85 VATS – Melting Culture


84 Holly Throsby – What Do You Say


83 Happyness – Falling Down


82 Hooded Fang – Tunnel Vision


81 The Felice Brothers – Aerosol Ball


80 Bueno – Babyface


79 Loch Lomond – Silver Felt


78 Velcro Hooks – Galaxy Police Club


77 Carter Tanton – Twentynine Palms


76 Avers – Insects


Check back for Part 2 (75-51) tomorrow.

Happyness will  release the successor to 2014’s excellent long player Weird Little Birthday next Spring and they have shared the first taste of what the album will sound like in the form of new single Falling Down.

It has echoes of early Fleetwood Mac, a touch of Interpol perhaps, even a synth outdo, but essentially it remains as resolutely and defiantly true to their laid-back melancholia as always.

Have a listen


Woozy, psych-pop weirdos, Happyness have announced that a brand new EP, titled Tunnel Vision On Your Part, will be released this September 23rd through Moshi Moshi Records.

The lead track on the EP is Anna, Lisa Calls – stream it below.


As well as a new song from Quiet Hollers earlier, we’re also stoked that Happyness are back with more of their acclaimed South London slacker rock vibes.

And in true Happyness style, they’ve chosen to embrace the surreal and write on the baffling subject of the famed, late, 80s wrestler André The Giant, and the fact that he used to have to get lifts to school in a truck with Samuel Beckett, because he couldn’t fit into his dad’s car…

Anyway, once again there’s a strong Yo La Tengo and Sparklehorse feel to it, but conveyed in their own inimitably, backward style.

Have a listen to SB’s Truck here.


Happyness have just announced a brand new double A-side single release in the form of long-time fan favourites Montreal Rock Band backed with the contrastingly upbeat It’s On You.

The former is the track that won the band an NME Award for Best Lyric back in February. “I’m wearing Win Butler’s hair / There’s a scalpless singer in a Montreal rock band somewhere”. Awesome!

Stream the former and grab a free download of the latter below.


[Click through for free download]


Happyness has just released the video for their new single, the live favourite, A Whole New Shape, in anticipation of their first US tour within the coming weeks.

The single is out on the 30th March. Watch it here.



Happyness, who featured in our Best of 2014 lists, announced in January that they have signed to Moshi Moshi Records for the UK.

Now their first single proper of 2015 has been named as the A Whole New Shape, and is set for release on March 30th. It’s taken from the re-release of their debut album Weird Little Birthday which includes this as one of four extra bonus tracks (CD + digital only). 

Urgent, propulsive, guitar driven indie rock at its best.


Our regular round up of the songs you really should have heard already this week, chief among them a brand new song from MM fave Sharon Van Etten, a couple of cracking covers and a newly discovered Jason Molina song with Will Oldham and Alasdhair Roberts.


1. Sharon Van Etten – I Don’t Want To Let You Down
2. The Smoke Fairies – Steal Softly Through The Snow (Captain Beefheart cover)
3. Jason Molina featuring Will Oldham & Alasdhair Roberts – September 11, 2001
4. Cheatahs – Sunne
5. JEFF The Brotherhood – Coat Check Girl
6. Happyness – Don’t Know Why (Norah Jones cover)
7. Moon King – Roswell
8. The Decemberists – A Beginning Song