Archive for the ‘Garage’ Category

  1. Widowspeak – Harvest Moon  (Neil Young cover)
  2. Wilco – Dynamite My Soul
  3. Kal Marks – Adventure
  4. The Staves & yMusic – The Way Is Read
  5. Ty Segall – My Lady’s On Fire
  6. Drive-By Truckers – The Perilous Night
  7. Johanna Warren – Here To Tell
  8. Angel Olsen – Sans
  9. Dama Scout – Toothache
  10. The Liminanas – Shadow People (featuring Emmanuelle Seigner)












Gestures – Nervous

Posted: November 10, 2017 in Alternative, Garage, Music, Punk, Rock

We’ve previously shared Kicks and now we’re thoroughly enjoying cranking out this new track from lo-fi garage punks Gestures.

Nervous is also taken from the Stockholm band’s new EP Bad Taste that is due out a week today, and if anything is even better than the previous single.



London band Calva Louise gleefully mix squalling guitars with the sweetest of pop melodies to create quirky, outsider punk rock that has nods to Pere Ubu, Talking Heads and the Sugarcubes.

Listen to their blistering new track Getting Closer below.


MM Shorts 985: SHINERS

Posted: November 9, 2017 in Alternative, Garage, Indie, Music, Rock

East London fourpiece SHINERS have announced the release of their debut EP Now with lead single Generation Y, both released via AWAL on 24thNovember.

The upbeat single has a chorus reminiscent of 90s Supergrass and a spacey alt outro which could easily be from Zenyatta Mondatta era Police. Lyrically it reflects the disquiet felt by the band’s peers in 2017; a tale of festival-going youths watching the same headline acts from yesteryear set against a backdrop of being skint and bored.

Stream it here.


Halloween is one of our favourite times of year. You get the best films for a start and oldest sprat has already digested the Texas Chainsaw Massacre and the original Halloween itself in the past few days. So here is a collection of new spooky themed tunes that have found their way into our in-box, and which like a lot of the other stuff we got, wasn’t shit. We also have a bloody and brilliant Halloween 2017 classic playlist here too.

No tricks. All treats. Enjoy.

Slowcoaches just released a new single Complex, which we shared here, but never ones to rest easy, they are back with something special for Halloween. They’ve covered The Misfits’ Skulls in typically raucous fashion.


Los Angeles-based rap-punk duo Ho99o9 have revealed Neighborhood Watch as a surprise Halloween release


Wild Evel And The Trashbones have their roots in 1960s US garage punk. Take some of Billy Childish’s trashy guitar solos, some of the Miracle Workers’ and The Stomachmouths’ catchy melodies, add some “three-finger organ”, combine them with invisible monsters and cavemen, in the spirit of the late great Screaming Lord Sutch, and you’ll have the gist of what these guys are up to.


In a somewhat similar vein, The Two Tens have shared Looney Bin especially for October 31st, a psychotic, demented blast of garage punk.


Also just in time for Halloween, Lee Ranaldo has released the brand new video for Uncle Skeleton, a track taken from his latest album, Electric Trim, which is out now on Mute.


Meanwhile, NJ-based indie-rockers The Clydes have released their new single The Vampire of Hanover, written from the perspective of Fritz Harman, a German serial killer.


And lastly, we have the trademark croon and growl of Shilpa Rays’ Morning Terrors Nights of Dread, which comes from latest album Door Girl.





  1. Ty Segall – Meaning
  2. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Crumbling Castle
  3. Destroyer – Cover From The Sun
  4. Chris Stapleton – Millionaire
  5. Blitzen Trapper – Dance With Me
  6. Hans Chew – Give Up The Ghost
  7. Trance Farmers – Witches










MM Shorts 980: Spice Boys

Posted: October 19, 2017 in Alternative, Garage, Indie, Music, Punk, Rock

Spice City Boys is the effervescent and vibrant first single from Glade, the debut album from Umeå, Sweden’s garage rock act Spice Boys.

Well worth a spin…


Back in 2007 Pretty Lightning formed. The German duo tick off a long list of influences – from 60s psych and delta blues through to krautrock and drone – and the end-product is a heady dose of raw, twisted psychedelic-blues recalling an utterly visceral, mind-blowing mix of Oh Sees, Wooden Shjips and early Black Keys.

They already have two highly-praised LPs behind them and are now gearing up for the third effort, The Rhythm Of Ooze – due for release November 10th on Fuzz Club Records. It sees them dive even further down the rabbit-hole of stomping garage-blues rhythms and unremitting motoric drones to dizzying effects.

Listen to the howling and primitive garage-rock call to arms of lead single Willow Valley Blues, and the lysergic head-trip of This Machine Is Running below.



  1. Calexico – End Of The World With You
  2. No Age – Soft Collar Fad
  3. Jim White – Far Beyond The Spoken Word
  4. Father John Misty – Pure Country
  5. Hater – Blushing
  6. Django Django – Tic Tac Toe
  7. A. Savage – Ladies From Houston
  8. Surfing Magazines – One Of These Days
  9. Anna St. Louis – Fire
  10. The Deep Dark Woods – Deep Flooding Waters
  11. Miss World – Click And Yr Mine













Mean Motor Scooter are a fuzzed up Fort Worth quartet of frazzled, psych-garage goodness firmly rooted in the Texas traditions of The Butthole Surfers, The Dicks, and Roky Erickson with a tab of Scratch Acid.

Check out Sea Serpent from their debut album Hindu Flying Machine, which can be pre-ordered on coke-bottle translucent green 12″ vinyl here.