Archive for the ‘Pop’ Category

Dolls – Pop The Bubble EP

Posted: August 15, 2018 in Alternative, Garage, Indie, Music, Pop, Punk, Rock

Dolls have shared the lead track from their forthcoming EP Pop The Bubble.

Set for release in September the EP is four garage-pop anthems with as much sass as they have bite. For now, check out Sugar Free, a riotous example of their infectious grunge-punk inspired by “the use-and-throwaway society around us today, how superficial people’s lives can be, and how rapidly people’s values and what’s on-trend can change”.

Stream it here.


Mad Mackerel Recommends… The Beths

Posted: August 14, 2018 in Indie, Music, Pop, Rock

New Zealand’s The Beths deliver a perfect blast of indie-pop, occupying a warm, energetic sonic space between joyful hooks, sun-soaked harmonies, and acerbic lyrics. Their debut album Future Me Hates Me, is out now on Carpark Records.

Channelling their stew of personal-canon heroes while drawing inspiration from contemporaries like Alvvays and Courtney Barnett, The Beths serve up deeply emotional lyrics packaged within an assortment of roadtrip-ready pleasures, each song hitting the listener’s ears with an exhilarating endorphin rush.

Listen to a selection of tracks from the album below as well as their new video for You Wouldn’t Like Me.






Tour Dates:

5 Nov – Bristol @ The Crofters Rights
6 Nov – Manchester @ Mancunia Records and Studio
7 Nov – Glasgow @ Broadcast
8 Nov – Leicester @ Duffy’s Bar
9 Nov – Bournemouth @ The Anvil
10 Nov – Brighton @ East Street Tap

  1. Terry – Oh Helen
  2. The Dodos – Forum
  3. Colleen Green – Let Go
  4. Marissa Nadler – Blue Vapor
  5. Art Brut – Wham! Bang! Pow! Let’s Rock Out
  6. Tiny Ruins – How Much
  7. Dilly Dally – Sober Motel
  8. DeVotchKa – Angels
  9. Mitski – Two Slow Dancers










Tess Parks and Anton Newcombe will release their second full length album on 12th October. The nine track eponymous album was recorded in Anton Newcombe’s Cobra Studios in Berlin last year and was mostly co-written by the duo.

Watch the video for Right On, a sultry excursion into psychedelic dream pop…


See them live:

8th Dec – Dublin – The Grand Social
9th Dec – Manchester – Yes
10th Dec – Newcastle – Cluny 2
11th Dec – Glasgow – Nice ‘n’ Sleazy
12th Dec – Leeds – Headrow House
13th Dec – London – The Dome
14th Dec – Bristol – Rough Trade
15th Dec – Brighton – The Hope and Ruin


The Joy Formidable’s new album AAARTH will be released on the 28th Sept via Hassle Records.

The latest single from it is The Wrong Side, a lurching, hulking behemoth of a track that aligns all of the band’s best qualities – a crushing, intense rhythm, remarkably inventive, snaking guitar work, military percussion, and a soaring vocal melody.

Give it a spin and watch the video below.


A round up of some sweet new videos.

Shimmering psych-pop from Whyte Horses, some charming Syd Barrett inspired bedroom lo-fi from Tiny Eyes, gentle pastoral folk from Queen of the Meadow, rambling, soulful Americana from Valley Maker, vintage outlaw bluegrass country from the Tennessee Stiffs, rural fuzz-folk from Stray Owls, classic indie-pop from Doe, anthemic, heavy duty indie from Tired All The Time, and last, but not least, punk rock fury from Glitoris,











Tim Cohen – Goodness

Posted: July 29, 2018 in Indie, Music, Pop, Rock

Tim Cohen of the Fresh & Onlys has announced the forthcoming release of a new solo album, The Modern World on September 28 via Sinderlyn.

He says of the first single, Goodness, “like many of my songs, ‘Goodness’ spills forth as a plea of sorts. A mixture between happy and sad. A contented malaise. Throw in the dissonant synth stabs over the sing-along chorus. It just feels like goodness to me.

Us too, stream it below.


  1. Protomartyr & Spray Paint – Corinthian Leather
  2. Mass Gothic – How I Love You
  3. Houndmouth – Golden Age
  4. Iron & Wine – What Hurts Worse
  5. Kevin Devine – Prehistoric  (Now Now cover)
  6. Swearin’ – Grow Into A Ghost
  7. The Molochs – Too Lost In Love










Indiepop institution Fortuna POP! quit the scene last year, going out in a blaze of glory with five days of sold out London shows by artists spanning their twenty year tenure, before label owner Sean Price fled Brexit Britain for a new life in Tokyo, Japan. And frankly who can blame him.

That would have been it for Fortuna POP!, were it not for the label’s Jukebox 45s Singles Club. With one final single still owed to subscribers, Price saw the opportunity to do something special for what would be the very last release on the label. Taking one of the label’s best-loved releases, Comet Gain’s classic 2001 single You Can Hide Your Love Forever, as his starting point, contributions were solicited from Fortuna POP! bands past and present for a Band Aid-style cover version.

Over twenty bands contributed to the Fortuna POP! Allstars, with the music recorded by a crack band featuring Amos Memon of Fanfarlo (drums), Emma Kupa of Mammoth Penguins (bass), Laura Kovic of Tigercats (keys) and Paul Rains of Allo Darlin’, Ben Phillipson of Comet Gain and Sam Ayres of Flowers (all guitar) at Soup Studios in London. Vocals were recorded in various studios and kitchens around the world, with Amelia Fletcher of Tender Trap, Daniel Ellis of Martha, Lan McArdle and Owen Williams of Joanna Gruesome, Adam Todd of The Spook School, Bill Botting and Elizabeth Morris of Allo Darlin’, Jeff Greene and Dan Greene of The Butterflies Of Love, Lisa Horton and Iain Ross of Bearsuit, Katherine Whitaker of Evans The Death, Silvi Wersing from Chorusgirl, Helen King of Shrag, Rachel Kenedy of Flowers, Pete Dale of Milky Wimpshake, Darren Hayman, Pete Astor and Simon Love all contributing. Giles Barrett at Soup Studios then made sense of it all and mixed the track.

The result is a fantastic, uplifting indiepop anthem. Enjoy.


  1. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – Blueberry Jam
  2. Phobophobes – Child Star
  3. Tomberlin – I’m Not Scared
  4. Torres – Gracious Day
  5. Waxahatchee – Chapel Of Pines
  6. Menace Beach – Crawl In Love
  7. Harlan T. Bobo – Nadine
  8. The Goon Sax – Make Time 4 Love