Archive for the ‘Indie’ Category

  1. Father John Misty – So I’m Growing Old On Magic Mountain (Live at Third Man Records)
  2. Holly Miranda – I Will Survive (FM4 Session Live In Vienna)  (Gloria Gaynor cover)
  3. Holly Miranda – A Little Piece
  4. Cloud Nothings – Leave Him Now
  5. Harmony Rockets with special guest Peter Walker – Atropos
  6. Marianne Faithfull feat. Nick Cave – The Gypsy Faerie Queen
  7. Cat Power – Stay  (Rihanna cover)
  8. M. Ward – Shark
  9. The Dodos – SW3
  10. The Wave Pictures – Roosevelt Skyes
  11. Reverend Horton Heat – Whole New Life
  12. Yowler – Where Is My Light
  13. Charly Bliss – Heaven















EZTV – Daytime

Posted: September 18, 2018 in Alternative, Indie, Music, Pop, Psychedelic, Rock

Daytime the new single from New York trio EZTV is a really sweet slice of jangly indie rock that recalls the 60’s heyday of pastoral psychedelia and all those wonderful nugget compilations.

Listen here and order here from Bandcamp.


Here is our latest collection of musical films for you. A regular pot pourri of musical styles from Girl Skin’s gorgeously fragile chamber folk to Sit Down’s oozing amalgam of doom metal and sludgy punk by way of The Cavemen’s amphetamine-fueled rhythms and scorching guitar, coupled with drunk and disorderly vocal tirades, and First Aid Kit’s ever perfect vocal harmonies.

There is Steve Mason’s soulful new single, brash snot-rock from TV COMA and the pummelling psych rock of the Oh Sees and Black Delta Movement and more hypnotic stoner wooze from The Holydrug Couple.










She Makes War – Undone

Posted: September 18, 2018 in Alternative, Indie, Music, Post Punk, Rock

She Makes War (aka Bristol based artist and multi-instrumentalist Laura Kidd) has shared her new single Undone, the first installment of the double A side Undone / London Bites, taken from the forthcoming album Brace For Impact, which is out 5th October.

Written in a daze the day after her grandmother Constance died last May, Undone’s monster guitars deliver palpable rage at the bad things that happen to good people, the song acting as an openhearted rallying cry against the British stiff upper lip brigade. “We need to give ourselves a break”, she says. “Giving ourselves time to feel devastated doesn’t make us weak.

Stream it below and pre-order here.


  1. together PANGEA – Hi-Fi Television
  2. Kurt Vile – Bassackwards
  3. The Distillers – Blood In Gutters
  4. FIDLAR – Too Real
  5. Human People – Black Flowers
  6. Courtney Marie Andrews – Heart and Mind
  7. Fucked Up – House Of Keys
  8. Marc Ribot featuring Tom Waits – Bella Ciao
  9. Hiss Golden Messenger – Rock Holy
  10. Moaning Lisa – Comfortable
  11. TOY – The Willow
  12. Beachtape – Figure It Out
  13. William The Conqueror – Bleeding On The Soundtrack















Ben Katzman’s DeGreaser will release their new LP, Quarter Life Crisis, on the 12th October via BUFU Records. Produced by MM fave Colleen Green, and with more than a passing nod to influences like KISS, Van Halen, and The Ramones, it’s full of ripping guitar solos, plenty of shredding, and clever, relatable lyrics. As if that wasn’t enough it also mixes in an obsession with astrology, cults, soaring guitar solos, and all things John Travolta.

Have a listen to the excellent first single Too Old For Retail, a reflection on why Katzman is still folding t-shirts for a living after graduating college….


  1. YAK – White Male Carnivore
  2. Rays – Yesterday’s Faces
  3. Beachtape – Fix It Up
  4. Human People – Jenny
  5. Yowler – Angel
  6. Muncie Girls – Clinic
  7. Richard Thompson – My Rock, My Rope
  8. Rebecca Blasband – Love Is










LA indiepop-punks Girl Friday take inspiration from a plethora of influences ranging from the SCUM Manifesto, socialist propaganda, pro-women rallies, The Breeders, witchcraft, mall goths, and surf rock of the 70s.

On new single Decoration/Currency, the foursome have effortlessly fused together a seemingly clashing collage of musical styles with intelligently poetic lyrics wrapped in a pro-active, political mentality.

Listen below, and to (possibly even better) previous single Velvet. Click through to get both from Bandcamp. File somewhere between The Go-Gos and Alvvays.



Born (accidentally) in Canada, raised in Blackpool and now hiding in Melbourne, polarizing anti-genre artist Benjamin Shaw returns with a new long player Megadead.

Sitting somewhere between Smog and Four Tet, it is a wonderfully miserable album of disarmingly accessible songs filled with fuzz, brittle melodies, looping guitars, ‘80s synth, self-sabotage, self-doubt, violent fantasy and uncertain swagger.

The album will be released on the 31st August through Audio Antihero (US/UK) and Kirigirisu Recordings (Japan), it’s a wild amalgamation of his previous work, blurring burned-out lo-fi, electronic pop, glimmering keys, field recordings, aching words, layered noise and uncompromising experimentalism.

Check out first (free) single Terrible Feelings below.


No less than thirteen corking new tracks this week from the brilliant hypnotic post-punk thrum of FEWS to the infectious indie pop of Hater by way of a Ramones inspired Colleen Green, wiry art-punk from Public Practice, fuzzy urgency from Ron Gallo, raucous arena ready rock from We Were Promised Jetpacks, and sunburnt, pastoral psych from The Smoking Trees.

And lots more besides…

Do we spoil you? Course we bloody do.

  1. FEWS – Business Man
  2. J Mascis – See You At The Movies
  3. The Dodos – Forum
  4. Hater – Fall Off
  5. The Skiffle Players – Local Boy
  6. Colleen Green – I Wanna Be Ignored
  7. Menace Beach – Satellite
  8. Public Practice – Fate / Glory
  9. The Goon Sax – We Can’t Win
  10. Shannen Moser – Haircut Song
  11. Ron Gallo – Always Elsewhere
  12. We Were Promised Jetpacks – Repeating Patterns
  13. The Smoking Trees – Honestly, I Wish That I Knew