This week has seen a few MM faves all share some top-notch new tunes via YouTube, and so here is a quick video collection from garage rockers Black Lips, psych-juggernauts Black Angels, psych-freaks King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, hazy troubadour Mac DeMArco, some classic old-time Americana from The Deslondes and some amphetamine filled blues boogie from Left Lane Cruiser.







We’re loving this track from Jeff Tweedy’s upcoming record Together At Last.

The album contains reworked material from his back catalogue – new solo recordings of Wilco classics and Smog and Loose Fur rarities. Laminated Cat is the latter of these, a gentle, acoustic croon that feels like days spent doing not much more than watching sunlight on water.

Listen to the track below and pre-order the album here.


Justin Townes Earle will release his New West Records debut Kids In The Street on 26th May. It is one of our most anticipated albums for the first half of the year.

We’ve already shared lead track Champagne Corolla, and now we have the compassionate, yearning ballad Faded Valentine for you – it is classic country with a touch of honky tonk and an absolute gem of a tune.

Listen below.


New From The Dirty Nil

Posted: April 13, 2017 in Alternative, Garage, Music, Punk, Rock

The Dirty Nil have an upcoming compilation release, Minimum R&B, out April 28 via Dine Alone/Fat Wreck Chords. They’ll also be playing some UK dates this month too.

From it we have Caroline for your listening pleasure -it was originally appeared on a small-run, self released EP the band burned onto CDs and released in 2009.


See them live

18 – Southampton @ Talking Heads
19 – London @ KOKO
20 – Manchester @ Academy 2
21 – Bristol @ Bierkeller
22 – Glasgow @ Oran Mor
23 – Derby @ The Venue
24 – Norwich @ Epic Studios

BEAK> – Sex Music

Posted: April 13, 2017 in Alternative, Electronic, Music, Psychedelic, Rock

Hypnotically excellent Bristol trio Beak> are back with a tasty new single, Sex Music, which will be released digitally and as a 7″ single on June 9th.

This is the first taste of new music since 2015’s BEAK>/<KAEB split EP and is the first single taken from their forthcoming album.

Have a listen. It lives up to its name…


The Right Stuff is the new single to be released by latest signings to the marvellous Loose label, The Americans.

Hailing from Los Angeles, the quartet blend country and blues with a fiery blue collar rock’n’roll attitude, absorbing and reconfiguring the history of American music from Chuck Berry and Tom Waits to Bruce Springsteen. The band named themselves after the controversial photo series by Robert Frank, which was first published in 1958. Like Frank’s photos, The Americans’ songs are miniature biographies, intimate and empathic portraits of individuals that leave much unsaid.

They are releasing the single as part of a four-track EP this month, with a one-off show at Sebright Arms in London on 3 May and a full-length album, I’ll Be Yours, due later in the year, also via Loose. Stream it below.


  1. Protomartyr – Sweeney Ashtray
  2. Strand Of Oaks – I Know YOU Know You Are Evil
  3. Mitski – Fireproof  (One Direction cover)
  4. Marika Hackman – My Lover Cindy
  5. Daddy Issues – I’m Not
  6. Big Thief – Mythological Beauty
  7. Chemtrails – Headless Pin Up Girl
  8. H.Grimace – Lipsyncer
  9. Vulgarians – Of Humdrum Consumption
  10. The Wooden Sky – Deadhorse Creek












MM Shorts 934: NO WIN

Posted: April 7, 2017 in Alternative, Indie, Music, Rock

The solo project of Musician/Producer/Engineer Danny Nogueiras, LA’s NO WIN is rife with honesty, distortion and unapologetic straight-up indie rock ‘n’ roll.

Latest single is Crooked Heart – just imagine if The Replacements got into a bar fight with Teenage Fanclub and somehow Superchunk ends up with the black eye…That’s NO WIN.

Stream it here.


New From Catch Prichard

Posted: April 6, 2017 in Americana, Folk, Music, Rock

Following 2016’s excellent Eskota EP (see our post here), Don’t Want It is the first in a new collection of singles called O.K. Cool that Oakland songwriter Catch Prichard will be releasing in the near future.

The haunting, minimal soundscapes of his new material evoke an atmospheric dream of sweet and low-down folk storytelling, splashed with spacey notes of West coast ambiance, and all built on his dexterous fingerpicking style on his steel guitar.

Have a listen.



Brooklyn band Monograms is the project of Ian Jacobs, who has been releasing music under the moniker for the past couple of years. What started out as a solo bedroom project has since grown into a four-piece live band, and they now have two upcoming releases: a split 7″ with Pink Mexico, due out tomorrow, and a new EP, Silencer, due out April 21st.

Both feature the fuzzed-out guitars, psych-tinged vocals, and catchy hooks of new single OK Promises, which you can stream below.