Posts Tagged ‘Eureka California’

  1. Eels – Bone Dry
  2. Joan Shelley – The Bridge  (Dolly Parton cover) feat Bonnie Price Billy
  3. Breakfast Muff – Patient
  4. Manchester Orchestra – No Hard Feelings  (Avett Brothers cover)
  5. Hinds – Finally Floating
  6. Laura Veirs – Lightning Rod
  7. Medistation – Pool Of Blood
  8. Wye Oak – Lifer
  9. Eureka California – Mexican Coke












Back in January we shared the fuzzy, agitated slacker-pop of Eureka California’s new single Wigwam. Now the Athens, Georgia duo have offered up a second track from the single to share – the equally good Only Birds No Feathers.

Have a listen – they’ll also be at SxSW this month too.

Eureka California

Athens, Georgia duo Eureka California are back with a new three track single, two brand new songs, Wigwam and Only Birds (No Feathers), and a cover of Superchunk’s Slack Motherfucker. It is out on the 24th February.

Listen to the fuzzy, agitated slacker-pop of the lead track below.


Eureka California

Versus is Athens GA duo Eureka California’s third album in three years – a white-knuckle ride through a tattered psyche and a brain that just won’t shut up.

Too smart for self-pity and too drunk to think clearly, it is endlessly self-referential and endlessly self-destructive, stuck on a non-stop treadmill of tension and release, of megalomania and doubt.

Versus is agoraphobic fight songs, songs about loving television more than people because people always let you down and the static from the set makes more sense than the static coming out of their mouths. EC songs exist in a world where ordering a pizza is fraught with anxiety and you have to laugh to keep from dying.

Stream Cobwebs on the Wind below.


best of the weekA slightly slower week – maybe all those shenanigans down in Austin… Anyway, we weren’t there this time and so we had time to round these gems up for you from the past seven days.

  1. ⅔ Goat – Whiskey Sins
  2. Street Chant – Insides
  3. Eureka California – Sign My Name With An X
  4. Great Lake Swimmers – Condition White
  5. Joana Serrat – Tug Of War
  6. Drug Pizza – Go Away
  7. A Giant Dog – Get With You And Get High








Eureka California is a skuzz-pop, indie-rock duo from Athens, Georgia.

Crunch marks their second long player in eighteen months; eleven eminently hummable tracks that recall the Replacements, early Jam and a scrappier Ramones. 

Check out Twin Cities. The album is out now via HHBTM Records.