Posts Tagged ‘MIEN’

  1. Dr. Dog – Virginia Please
  2. MIEN – Odessey
  3. Bad Breeding – Dehumanised
  4. Phil Cook featuring Amelia Meath – Miles Away
  5. Giant Sand – Tumble And Tear
  6. River Whyless – Motel 6
  7. Post Louis – Stress Fracture
  8. No Problem – Get The Feeling Back
  9. School Damage – Scump Damage 1












MIEN (featuring members of The Horrors, The Black Angels, Elephant Stone and The Earlies) have shared the latest single from their upcoming self-titled LP that is due out tomorrow.

(I’m Tired Of) Western Shouting is pretty self explanatory for subject matter, but has an undercurrent of optimism. Heavy and hypnotic, it swells and rolls on a sea of ambient tinged psych and eastern rock grooves and is well worth spending some time with.

Listen below.


MIEN – Earth Moon

Posted: February 9, 2018 in Alternative, Electronic, Music, Psychedelic, Rock

Here is a second track from psych-rock supergroup MIEN. With members from The Black Angels, The Horrors, Elephant Stone and The Earlies expectations are naturally high and Earth Moon delivers in spades. A hypnotic, transcendental groove with its roots in the mystic sounds of the east combines with the wide-eyed innocence of the peace and love era of the sixties.

Listen here. Their self-titled debut album is out on the 6th April.


Comprised of The Black Angel’s Alex Maas, The Horror’s Tom Furse, Elephant Stone’s Rishi Dhir and The Earlies’ John-Mark Lapham, MIEN have announced their self-titled debut album will be released on Friday 6th April via Rocket Recordings.  It is a record that finds equal room for radiant groove-based propulsion and ambient dreamscapes alike – as comfortable with the murky hallucinogenic voyage of You Dreamt as the powerful widescreen sweep of (I’m Tired Of) Western Shouting.

MIEN has been a collaboration that has been in the works for well over ten years, and was based, initially at least, on a shared love for one song – the ‘classic sitar banger’ by the Association, Wantin’ Ain’t Gettin’.

Eventually, via yet another pass at the ill-starred Association cover, the four planets of the MIEN universe were to align, as a long-standing demo of John-Mark’s – originally based on a Beastie Boys sample – was passed from the cutting-room-floor through the hands of Rishi, Alex and Tom to undergo an alchemical process that startled all four – this was to become Black Habit, the second song on this debut.

And you can stream it here…