Round Up Time Again – Part 3

Round Up Time Again - Part 2

And so to the third instalment of our Round Up posts, catching up with our overflowing in-box, our favourite blogs and the internet at large. Today another 13 tracks to tickle your fancy.

First up is another track from the brilliant Australian Tom Morgan and his forthcoming album Orange Syringe which is due on Fire Records on 4th February. This is the wonderfully stripped back and laconic One True Love.


Sunshine do have an illuminating quality, but it is not the dim, florescent light of a lamp nor the warm, yellowed light of a summer afternoon; Instead, the fuzzy guitars and reverb-y vocals on their self-titled debut give off a bright white heat that cannot be ignored.

They have dropped two initial singles Arnprior and Two Hundred Grand, both giving a glimpse into their self-titled album to be released on February 26th.


As Elephants Are return with a new single Youth Blood/Lucifer, another blistering slice of epic, widescreen indie which will be available on March 8th via Once Upon A Time Records.


Cowboy Indian Bear, make both a reaffirmation and a grand leap forward with their second full-length album of ethereal indie-rock, Live Old, Die Young, out April 23rd via The Record MachineDoes Anybody See You Out?, plus three previously unreleased, non-album tracks are available for free download from the band’s website.


Lapland (aka songwriter Josh Mease) has an introspective tone. His self-titled debut weaves themes of separation and loss through different styles and genres from the electronic gallop of album opener Unwise to the classic soul of Aeroplane and the acoustic haze and layered harmonies of Overboard. The record is released on the 26th March.


The plaintive piano melody sets the tone for Golden Bloom’s latest single Deliver It For Me, a peaceful lament of a life remembered. It is taken from the recently released album No Day Like Today.


Fletcher C Johnson established his roots playing with King Tuff, but his own material truly reflects his rock ‘n roll pedigree. Happy Birthday (from Salutations) is a nostalgic paean to the 60s with a sweet melody and chorus. Perfect garage pop.

Download Fletcher C Johnson – Happy Birthday mp3 (from Salutations)

Coasts release their debut single Oceans on 25th February and it is a winning mix of danceable indie rock and soaring anthemic choruses that has enough about it to mark these out as ones to watch.


Ambivalence the new EP from Amber Oak is a journey through polarized zones of both pureness and filth. It begin in the ruins of a former glory, a southern Texas man on a Harley-Davidson, wishing for nothing more than a place to rest his bones. Next stop, a dirty hotel room where love hasn’t sat her foot for ages, a castle where lust forever will reign. Lastly a romanticized picture of haze and shoegaze. The stories told sprawl in different directions – have a listen to opening track Ol’Pa.


Daniel Pearson released his second album Mercury State earlier this week and has picked up a lot of positive reviews as the “recession generation Bob Dylan“. We have been enjoying it a lot so far – this is album opener, the redundancy blues and frustration of Factory Floor. Buy the album here.


And lastly listen to the excellent new single from classic psych-blues rockers Heavy Glow, their first new music in almost 2 years. Mine All Mine / Headhunter is released in a limited quantity of 300 on February 12th (pre-order here).

Tell Us What You Think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.