Mega Round Up (Part 1)

We’ve been catching up (again) on some new tunes and, well frankly, there are just too many of the bloody things. Here are a few of the loud / fast / brutal / noisy ones we’ve really liked from the last month or so, and there’ll be a few more (quieter ones) tomorrow. So here we go… The Hives are back with new single Good … Continue reading Mega Round Up (Part 1)

Videos of the Day: Field Report || Crushed Beaks || Esmé Patterson || The Maginot Band

Watch a brilliant video from Field Report to accompany their track I Am Not Waiting Anymore, Crushed Beak’s new video for their track Breakdown, and Esmé Patterson’s video for My Young Man featuring another MM fave in Nathaniel Rateliff. Finally we have the soaring indie-pop of Scottish six piece The Maginot Band and their new video for recent single Sombre Fayre. . . . Continue reading Videos of the Day: Field Report || Crushed Beaks || Esmé Patterson || The Maginot Band

Crushed Beaks Cover Torches VTOO

A couple of weeks ago we posted Torches cover of Crushed Beaks Close-Ups, now as part of the split single release Crushed Beaks are returning the favour with their cover of Torches VTOO. This time the duo have replaced their usual full-on steam-hammer approach with slowly pounding drums and staccato guitar noise creating something akin to a sonic maelstrom – a post-apocalyptic bedlam if you … Continue reading Crushed Beaks Cover Torches VTOO

Crushed Beaks / Torches Split Single

London bands Crushed Beaks and Torches have announced the release of a split download single featuring cover versions of each others songs. Torches’ version of Crushed Beaks’ Close-Ups is the first to be released, with Crushed Beaks’ version of Torches’ VTOO appearing online very soon. However, appearing first with their lurching cover, Torches reweld the original’s upbeat urgency into something far more dark, brooding and synonymous … Continue reading Crushed Beaks / Torches Split Single

Video Round Up

Here are a few more of the videos that we have been sent recently that have appealed to our eyes and ears. First up is Monument Valley whom we posted about recently. This is the off kilter video for Round And Round together with a download for Dear John Letters from the forthcoming Tongues EP. Download Monument Valley – Dear John Letters mp3 (from Tongues … Continue reading Video Round Up