Posts Tagged ‘Sandwitches’

More From The Sandwitches

The ever wonderful Sandwitches have shared another track from their forthcoming new record Our Toast.

Miggy is a fabulous slow moving indie pop song featuring hymn like harmonies and showcasing a sweetly tender side to the band. Lovely, lovely stuff.

Stream it here.



Nine new, and excellent, songs from the past seven days neatly packaged for your listening pleasure.

1. Jeffrey Lewis – Train Song
2. The Sandwitches – Our Toast
3. Ultimate Painting – Break The Chain
4. John Vanderslice – Midnight Blue
5. Destroyer – Dream Lover
6. Heather Woods Broderick – Wyoming
7. DRINKS – Hermits On Holiday
8. Spoon – TV Set (Cramps cover)
9. Nots – Virgin Mary











Both the previous releases from The Sandwitches have gone down very well here at MM, and their recent EP collaboration with Sonny Smith is still receiving repeated plays after making our December Best of posting.

So we were delighted to find out via GvB that a new album, Mrs Jones’ Cookies is imminent, featuring more of the dark and poignant swirling psych-pop that so marked out their debut and the follow up Duck Duck Goose EP. The label describe it best: “The Sandwitches’ sound is a bitter-sweet batter of old-time Americana, 60s garage, soul and country.”

Check out these two tracks and watch out for the album which is released on Empty Cellar on 29th March.

Download The Sandwitches – Joe Says mp3 (from Mrs Jones’ Cookies)

Download The Sandwitches – Lightfoot mp3 (from Mrs Jones’ Cookies)

Earlier this month we gave you the first taster from The Sandwitches excellent new one-sided 12″ Duck Duck Goose!

Now here is a second in the form of Stardust. Another spooky acoustic lullaby courtesy of the San Franciscans.

Out on July 13th, you can pre-order by clicking here.

Visit their MySpace here.

Download The Sandwitches – Stardust mp3 (from Duck Duck Goose! 12″)

It’s hard keeping up with all the new releases and good stuff that is coming our way. Here is a quick and dirty round-up of some of the tracks that have been tickling our ears recently.

The Sandwitches have been MM faves ever since we got hold of their excellent How To Make Ambient Sadcake album last year. They now have a new one-sided 12″ due on Empty Cellar + Secret Seven RecordsDuck Duck Goose! features haunting renditions of Tim Cohen’s Rock of Gibraltar (a bonus track from the Two Sides of Tim Cohen), and of the Oscar-nominated ballad Baby Mine, from what some say is the most heartbreaking moment in Disney cartoon history (Dumbo). Stamped on one-sided 12″ vinyl, the initial pressing of this EP is limited to 500 copies and you can order here.

Download The Sandwitches – Song Of Songs mp3 (from Duck Duck Goose 12″)

Likewise, The Fresh & Onlys are another MM fave, and keeping up with their prolific release schedule is a full time job in itself. We loved the recent August In My Mind EP and there is a new 7″ called Vanishing Cream out now on French label Plastic Spoons. It is another nugget of pysch-pop goodness – the creative well shows no signs of drying up here.

Download The Fresh & Onlys – Vanishing Cream mp3 (from Vanishing Cream 7″)

We posted the first track from All Saints Day self-titled EP a while back. This side project of Katy of Vivian Girls and Gregg of Cat Power is heavy on the distortion and reverb (like a ballsier Raveonettes maybe). Here is a second track from the EP in advance of a forthcoming single. You can get the whole thing here.

Download All Saints Day – You Can’t Be Alone mp3 (from All Saints Day EP)

Everyone and his dog knows of the buzz created by Washed Out after the release of The Life Of Leisure EP. Now as part of Adult Swim’s 8 Singles In 8 Weeks they are offering this (already blog-popular) chilly, new track featuring Chairlift’s Caroline Polachek.

Download Washed Out – You And I mp3

Tennis is Patrick Riley and Alaina Moore, a husband/wife duo. The idea for this musical project began one day a couple of years ago when Alaina made fun of Patrick for playing Tennis in college. A year later the two fled their hometown Denver to spend eight months sailing and exploring the North Atlantic coast. During their adventures they began writing music together documenting their experiences. This sweet and catchy pop gem is one of the results and fits nicely with the zeitgeist of the moment. Check out more at Underwater Peoples for whom a single is coming soon.

Download Tennis – Marathon mp3

We discovered Coolrunnings via a couple of freely available EPs from their Bandcamp page. When I Got High With You comes from their Babes Forever EP and sounds exactly as you would imagine it should. Warm, fuzzy and relaxed, it is also reverb heavy, soporific and engrossing. Well worth checking out.

Download Coolrunnings – When I Got High With You mp3 (from Babes Forever EP)

Lastly, Darker My Love are part of a tribute album titled The Psychedelic Sounds Of The Sonic Cathedral: A Tribute To Roky Erickson And The 13th Floor Elevators which came out a week or so ago. Other artists on the collection include A Place To Bury Strangers, The Black Angels, Dead Meadow and more. Check out their version of She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own) from the Elevator’s wonderful second album Easter Everywhere. Buy the tribute album from here.

Download Darker My Love – She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own) mp3 (from The Psychedelic Sounds Of The Sonic Cathedral: A Tribute To Roky Erickson And The 13th Floor Elevators)