New (at last) from Willy Mason

Already Dead will be the fourth album, and the first for nine years, from MM fave Willy Mason. It is an ambitious record exploring honesty and deception, anonymity in the digital age, good intentions with unexpected consequences, freedom, colonialism, love, god, and purpose.

Sparkling opener and first single Youth On A Spit is one of his heaviest tracks to date; “I feel no pain I’ve already bled / You can’t kill me I’m already dead,” he taunts, through double-sided declaration of invincibility before embarking upon a biting, bold, and caring tour through the purgatory of life in 21st century North America. “Youth On A Spit is about the struggle for freedom and identity that comes from growing up in an advertising based culture. The refrain ‘you can’t kill me I’m already dead’ is about the liberation that comes with disillusionment.

It is great to have him back! The album will be out on Cooking Vinyl on the 6th August, with a UK and European tour to follow in November.

In the meantime, check out the single here.

Catch him live in November

02 Guildford, The Boiler Room
03 Reading, South Street Arts Centre
05 Cambridge, Portland Arms
06 Tunbridge Wells, Forum
07 Norwich, Arts Centre
09 Manchester, Night & Day
10 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
11 Dublin, Whelans
12 Chester, St Mary’s Church
15 Newcastle, Cluny
16 York, The Crescent
17 Birmingham, Glee Club
18 London, The Dome

Tell Us What You Think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.