Our second individual listing comes from long-standing contributor Chris T Popper, he of the creaking joints and club foot (and yet still the second-best footballer in his family). Another cracking collection of tunes, and you can always listen on Spotify here. 20 Big Thief – Paul   19 Mind Spiders – Running   18 Hooded Fang – Dead Battery   17 Van William – Revolution … Continue reading MM’s BEST OF 2016: CHRIS T POPPER


Here are our favourite albums of 2016. We have to go against the flow a bit and say up front there is no place for David Bowie. Great though he was, and tragic that he died two days after the release of a good album, for us that was what it was, a good album, but not a great one. And besides he is topping … Continue reading MM’s BEST ALBUMS OF 2016

MM’s BEST TRACKS OF 2016: 50-26

Inside the top fifty of our favourite songs of the year now. Check numbers 50 – 26 and come back tomorrow for the final countdown… 50 BAIT – I’m Still Here   49 Big Thief – Paul   48 Kyle Craft – Before The Wall   47 Staches – Total Commitment   46 Arborist – I Heard Him Leaving   45 Hooded Fang – Dead … Continue reading MM’s BEST TRACKS OF 2016: 50-26

Mad Mackerel’s Albums Of The Year: Part 2 (30 – 11)

Carrying on from where we left off yesterday… 30 Josh T Pearson – Last Of The Country Gentlemen Download Josh T Pearson – Woman When I’ve Raised Hell…(Alternative Version) mp3 a 29 Real Estate – Days Download Real Estate – Green Aisles mp3 (from Days) Download Real Estate – It’s Real mp3 (from Days) a 28 Gillian Welch – The Harrow & The Harvest Download Gillian Welch – The Way It Goes … Continue reading Mad Mackerel’s Albums Of The Year: Part 2 (30 – 11)

Video Round Up

Some more half decent, decent, and downright entertaining videos for you to check out. The Agitator’s new single Say NO! is a politically charged call to arms set against an equally radical new musical style. Not a guitar in sight, just front man Derek Meins’ force-of-nature voice accompanied by Robert Dylan Thomas and T-Train on thunderous double drums. Pared down and primal! a Bergen, Norway-based … Continue reading Video Round Up

New Single from PJ Harvey

Written On The Forehead is the first taste of Let England Shake, PJ Harvey’s new album, which will be released via Island Records in February. Recorded in a 19th Century church in Dorset with long time collaborator Flood who co-produced the album with PJ Harvey, John Parish and Mick Harvey. Let England Shake was also mixed by Flood. Listen to the song below, and here … Continue reading New Single from PJ Harvey