Posts Tagged ‘Cat Power’

  1. Father John Misty – So I’m Growing Old On Magic Mountain (Live at Third Man Records)
  2. Holly Miranda – I Will Survive (FM4 Session Live In Vienna)  (Gloria Gaynor cover)
  3. Holly Miranda – A Little Piece
  4. Cloud Nothings – Leave Him Now
  5. Harmony Rockets with special guest Peter Walker – Atropos
  6. Marianne Faithfull feat. Nick Cave – The Gypsy Faerie Queen
  7. Cat Power – Stay  (Rihanna cover)
  8. M. Ward – Shark
  9. The Dodos – SW3
  10. The Wave Pictures – Roosevelt Skyes
  11. Reverend Horton Heat – Whole New Life
  12. Yowler – Where Is My Light
  13. Charly Bliss – Heaven















  1. IDLES – Great
  2. Death Valley Girls – Disaster (Is What We’re After)
  3. Fucked Up – Normal People
  4. Cat Power (feat. Lana Del Rey) – Woman
  5. Low – Disarray
  6. Spain – Maya In The Summer
  7. Iron & Wine – Waves Of Galveston
  8. Les Big Byrd – I Fucked Up I Was A Child
  9. Whitney Ballen – Fucking
  10. Sudakistan – Last Love Supreme
  11. Fidlar – Are You High?














Thursday Means Six Of The Best!

A few new releases on the radar and well worth some ear-time we think.

We have a new single from Van Pierszalowski aka Waters following on from his excellent debut album Out In The Light last year, If Only is another quality slice of psych-pop with added fuzz.

Download Waters – If Only mp3 (from If Only Single)

After a four year hiatus, Cat Power has a new album, Sun prepped for release. The first taste is an unusually catchy, but typically pithy Ruin.

Download Cat Power – Ruin mp3 (from Sun)

The always good Adult Swim Single Series has kicked into gear for 2012, with 12 free tracks appearing at the rate of one each week. This summer, they’ll be giving us tracks from people like Wavves and Wye Oak, as well as this the first song of the series, from psych-poppers Unknown Mortal Orchestra.

Download The Unknown Mortal Orchestra – I’ll Come Back 4 U mp3 (from Adult Swim Single Series)

The Lighthouse And The Whaler have a new album This Is An Adventure scheduled for release on 18th September. First taste comes in the shape of Venice and most appetising it is too.

Download The Lighthouse And The Whaler – Venice mp3 (from This Is An Adventure)

Amanda Jo Williams released her latest album The Bear Eats Me a couple of days ago. A wholly compelling mix of quirky, idiosyncratic, freak-folk style indie mixed with classic jukebox rockabilly numbers. We have already posted the title track and here is a second taste, the soulful and imaginative Hello Good Morning.

Download Amanda Jo Williams – Hello Good Morning mp3 (from The Bear Eats Me)

And lastly we have another track from retro-indie popsters Saint Motel’s forthcoming debut release Voyeur (out on 10th July). This is Benny Goodman, a genre-bending homage to the man himself.


Mrs Mackerel's TFI Friday (17th February). Another week, another gin. A creature of habit on a Friday night, contemplating the week gone by.

Oh the times they are a changing. What’s so familiar has altered beyond all comprehension.

Still look for the humour, as is the way. Pack off a very Southern sounding MM to the “ticket place” in the heart of Sunderland with four children and £30. Spend £30 make it look like £5. The endearing beauty of the ticket place – not lost on my sprats or their cousin. Arrive back with an arsenal of plastic weaponry and wage war. Who doesn’t like to be struck between the eyes by a rubber arrow?

It all looks the same, but it tastes so different.

Mama’s going and Harry’s lost. Is my heart filled with pain? Shall I come back again? Yes my dear, I feel lonesome tonight.

Mrs Mackerel x

Download The Cowboy Junkies – I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry mp3 (from The Trinity Sessions)

Download Cat Power – Lost Someone mp3 (from Jukebox)