Posts Tagged ‘Telegraph Canyon’


And so begins the second quarter of our annual countdown of our favourite tracks of the year.

75 Joe Ely – Wounded Creek


74 Great American Canyon Band – Crash


73 Julien Baker – Sprained Ankle


72 The Quite Hollers – Mont Blanc


71 Heaters – Mean Green


70 Tough Age – New Orleans Square


69 Chris Staples – Dark Side Of The Moon


68 Telegraph Canyon – Why Let It Go


67 The Tulips – Winter Winds


66 H. Hawkline – Spooky Dog


65 Ex-Cult – Stick The Knife In


64 Screaming Females – Ripe


63 Courtney Barnett – Depreston


62 Amason – The Moon As A Kite


61 Grandparents – Kids In The Alley


60 Songhoy Blues – Soubour


59 Faith Healer – No Car


58 Haunted Hearts – Something That Feels Bad Is Something That Feels Good


57 Futurekids – White Girl In A Wu Tang T-Shirt


56 Bueno – Assed Out


55 Jamie T – Marilyn Monroe


54 Creepoid – American Smile


53 Woolen Men – Life In Hell


52 John Grant – Disappointing


51 Tallest Man On Earth – Sagres


Check back on Monday for numbers 50 through to 26, and click here for numbers 100 – 76.

Friday Round Up

Our in-box is once again sinking slowly in a deluge of new music and videos, and even once we’ve deleted all the e-mails about house bangers, dance remixes, and other such nonsense we’re still left with an unfathomably large number of songs to listen to…

However, listen we do, and here is a short selection from all around the world (Australia, New Zealand, Denmark, Sweden, USA and the UK) of those that made us prick up our ears with interest.

First up is the pulsating guitar riffs of Brooklyn-based indie/fuzz rockers Lightouts who have dropped their first release in more than a year with their More Than Ever maxi-single. Stream / download it here.


Then we have MOSES who mix the sounds of 60s pop and psychedelia like Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young and The Electric Prunes with 90s shoegazers like The Brian Jonestown Massacre and Slowdive, and top it all off with a healthy mix of 70s soft rock like Fleetwood Mac and Steely Dan. Have a listen to Opium, or download from Bandcamp.


Taking the templates laid out by the likes of Black Sabbath, MC5 and The Melvins and skewing them with youthful, experimental abandon, Copenhagen’s Baby In Vain are back with their ferocious new track of disorientating blues-sludge titled Muscles – it is a powerful return for the band.

Denver’s Kissing Party deal in infectious two-minute drunken guitar pop songs that stick in the mind like glue. Known for their jangly guitars, raucous live shows, and charming blend of boy/girl vocals, new album Looking Back It Was Romantic But At The Time I Was Suffocating is a perfect introduction to the band with their takes on debt, regret, heartbreak, hair dye and Pennsylvania. Download / listen to Justine.


Edward David Anderson (who’s also known for his work with the late great midwest rock band Backyard Tire Fire), has announced the release of his next studio album, Lower Alabama: The Loxley Sessions, due 16th October via Royal Potato Family. The first single from the collection is Jimmy & Bob & Jack – it is vintage outlaw rock ‘n’ roll storytelling.


Battle of Flowers are an Adelaide based duo playing a dark, steely and evocative blend of the darker elements of indie rock and alternative country. Lost And Found comes from their new self-titled EP.


Fritjof Norrmo has based several of his songs on events and people he has encountered during the years. But there have not only been travels and new faces; a large part of his youth was spent in a small society in the Swedish countryside. In the midst of smoke from secret cigarettes, he was sitting in the window, dreaming of a more meaningful time. Double-single Set Me on Fire consists of two songs about dreams of love and a disdain for the place you’re stuck at.


Earlier in the year we posted Hidden Charms’ excellent tune It’s Time, and now they are releasing a limited edition 7″ titled Dreaming Of Another Girl which is another perfectly judged track of gently swirling 60s influenced psych-rock.


And lastly for this morning we have Fort Worth, TX-based band, Telegraph Canyon who will shortly release their new album You From Before. Check out the ambient tinged indie rock of Why Let it Go, infused with hints of garage rock and soul.